Sewing

Throwback Thursday: The McCall’s Cardis

Heeeey!  Welcome back for the second edition of Throwback Thursday, in which I share things I’ve made years ago and maybe don’t remember a lot about!  Here’s to brevity, eh?

Today’s focus…

Pattern:  McCall’s 6844:  View C
Completion Date:  Unsure; photographed November 2014

DSCN1050

I’m pretty sure everyone and their mom made this cardigan.  It’s cute as hell, so of course I naturally had to have one, too.  Or, as it turns out,  two.

DSCN1091

Fabric for the black version is a rayon blend ponte; the cranberry version is a sweater knit of mystery synthetic content.  Ain’t no wool here.

DSCN1060

For sizing, I know I went with a medium and tapered in so the waist of both to match my own waist measurement at the time.  I also shortened the body of the cardigan so the peplum seam hit at my waistline; I want to say that was probably about a 1/2″ adjustment.

DSCN1107

The cranberry version is sewn pretty much as is, but I omitted the clear elastic the pattern calls for, since I didn’t like how bulky it made the peplum seam in the black version.

DSCN1061 DSCN1113

I added waist ties to the black version, and they really added to the wearability of the cardigan.  I sewed them so they were 1″ wide finished and right into the collar/body seam.  If I were to do it again, I’d probably put them in the side seams instead, as I didn’t always feel like I could tie them tightly enough for my liking as is.

DSCN1067 DSCN1069

This cardigan truly sews up really well straight from the pattern…the adjustments I made were not by any means necessary.  There’s a reason this one has been so popular and is still in print after at least three years!

DSCN1063 DSCN1117

And with that, this Throwback Thursday has concluded…sewn in November-ish 2014, shared with you today.

DSCN1120

See you next week for a very special edition of Throwback Thursday!

4 thoughts on “Throwback Thursday: The McCall’s Cardis”

  1. It looks great on you, especially the cranberry colour! I made it a couple of years ago in a pink open knit and I didn’t love it, but looking at yours I think I needed to shorten the waist. Maybe it deserves a second chance!

Leave a Reply

