Quilting, Sewing

The Retreat

This past weekend, and the awesome sewing retreat, came and went so quickly.  I didn’t get a lot of photos because I was busy sewing, but thought I’d write an update on how the event went and report on what I was able to finish!

I’m pretty sure I packed up my whole damn sewing room.  I even took my sewing chair, as was suggested by my sister in law.  This is what 3 machines that sew in some way, plus half a sewing room, look like in a hatchback:

Untitled

Untitled

Untitled

See that last photo?  That’s my personal stuff for the weekend.  The rest was allllll for sewing.

I took the ~100 minute drive up along I-39 from the Madison area to the retreat center (a hotel with conference center) on Thursday afternoon.  I passed a sign that said “Warning:  watch for dust” and was told there are a lot of potato farms in the area.  I also spotted a pro-creationism (or maybe it was anti-evolution?) billboard that made me feel like I was in a different dimension.  It didn’t say which organization it was sponsored by, but there was a phone number on it.  Wonder what happens if you call?

Untitled
A view of the room set up!

ANYWAY.  Sewing retreat. OK, I was actually the only one calling it that.  It was really a quilting retreat and everyone else was piecing quilt tops and sewing bindings onto wall hangings and what have you.  Thankfully, only one woman gave me the side eye (and a snarky comment) about sewing clothes, and I got a couple interested questions from a couple of others.  Overall, a very pleasant group to sit and sew with.

Untitled A glimpse of my sewing station

Thursday afternoon to Sunday morning were a bit of a blur with all of the sewing and evening wine, but the days were punctuated with lunches and dinners and long chats with my sister in law, J.  I stayed up until TWO AM sewing on Saturday night!  It was pretty fab.

Untitled
Don’t mind my crazy hair

Having so much sewing time was awesome, but I missed Cheeks and his daddy a lot.  We FaceTimed every day or so, which was so nice.

It’s also been pretty warm up here the last week or so (highs around 60; unheard of for February!), so I decided to take a break and go for a walk.

Untitled

Regretfully, I didn’t get any photos of the wonderful shop (Antoinette’s Quilt Shop in Plover, WI) that organized the retreat (argh!), which is kind of silly since I was there at least three times over the weekend.  I did get some inspiration for my next quilt, though, which I plan to make with these two roll-ups (jelly rolls) from the shop!

Untitled

radioway-front
Planning to fashion after this pattern.

Speaking of fabric, there were awesome door prizes every day, too…and I won on these one yard cuts and pattern!  Yaaaay!  Thanks again, Antoinette’s and J!  It was all SO FUN!

Untitled

That all said, before I start my next quilt there are just a few things I need to get done.  So, I bet you’re wondering:  of the 30+ items I said I was going to make, which ones did I get done, and which are still languishing in project boxes?  Here’s a quick run through:  I’ll (probably) be posting more about each project later!

Finished for me (read more about fabrics, etc. in this planning post):

Patterns For Pirates Peg Legs (2 pair)

Peglegs

 Jalie 3352: Dolman Tops (long sleeved)

3352_4

Jalie 3245: Raglan Tunic (lower right)

3245_2_1

Vogue 8817 (view C)

V8817_a

Jalie 3348: Drop pocket cardigan

3248_3_1_2

Papercut Patterns Coppelia

CoppeliaCardiOrig_1024x1024

Butterick 6241 (view C)

B6241_a

I also got one additional mystery project done that I’ll probably share late next month.  I’m so excited about that one!  *Steeples fingers like Mr. Burns*

And here’s what I got done for Sweet Cheeks!  You can see more about fabrics, etc. in this planning post.

Brindille & Twig 023: Cuff Shorts (2 pairs)

rain_shorts_grande

Brindille & Twig 034: Raglan Tee (2 of these)

Brindille & Twig Raglan Tee

Brindille & Twig 099: Ringer Tee (2 of these)

front_gray_grande

Oliver + S Sunny Day Shorts (2 pairs)

Oliver + S Sunny Day

Patterns For Pirates Slouchy Beanie

Slouchy Beanie

Since this beanie is pretty straight forward, I won’t be posting about it separately.  Here he is in it!

Untitled

So that’s what about two and a half days of sewing looks like for me.  Can you figure out what I didn’t get done?  A LOT.  Turns out I’m not a wizard, but I still feel like I got quite a bit accomplished.  Eyes bigger than the stomach and all that.  Here they all are, in the order I plan to accomplish them:

TO FINISH

  1.  Got these about half done but ran out of time.

Love Notions Moto Maxx Pants

Moto maxx

2.  I didn’t even get these cut out pre-retreat.  He looks tres adorable in overalls and doesn’t have any that fit at the moment, so these are next!

Peek-a-boo Pattern Shop Okey Dokey Overalls

Okey dokey

3.  While it’s still winter-ish, thought it would be nice to get this robe done.

Simplicity 8267

simplicity-unisex-pattern-8267-envelope-front

4.  These next two are here on the list so I actually get them done.  I’ve been meaning to for a while now..

Kitchen Rag Bag

kitchen rag bag sew a straight line_thumb[3]

5.

Japanese Knot Bag

knot-bag-collage

6.  And while it’s still Springtime (or thereabouts) thought this one should be next.  I really meant to at least start this at the retreat, as making a coat is one of my big goals for this year, but alas…I did not.

Sewaholic Minoru

1103_Sewaholic_Minoru_Envelope

7.  I so love this dress, and will make it, but it is a FABRIC HOG and I haven’t been able to decide on a fabric.  When I finally get around to cutting this one out will determine whether I make it sleeved or not.

Simplicity 8291

simplicity-dress-pattern-8291-envelope-front

8.  These pants have been taunting me since the pattern came out, and I have the absolutely perfect rayon/nylon ponte in my stash just waiting to be cut.

Vogue 1411

V1411_a

9.  He doesn’t really need more of these hats (I’m making two) until May, so they are last.

Oliver + S Reversible Bucket Hat

Oliver + S Reversible Bucket Hat

With all of these yet to finish, plus a few gift/secret projects on my plate, I imagine you won’t be seeing another planning post from me until late March to mid April.  Whew!

13 thoughts on “The Retreat”

  1. That sounds like the best get-away weekend ever! As I read through, I remembered how often I end up sewing in my underthings (’cause fitting) and I imagine that wouldnt go over so well in a room full of quilters! Ha!

  2. You did an amazing job on all of your projects! Yay for nearly unlimited sewing time!!! Woohoo!

    I love those little moto jeans and he is so adorable in his beanie.

    Also, snark for garment sewing?? Bleh.

    1. Thanks, darlin’! Yeah, the lady was like “I brought garments to my first quilting retreat, too, because I didn’t know.” I was just like “I knew…” and my SIL’s mom was like “she can sew whatever she wants” :D So nice to know you’ve got folks on your side.

  3. Holy cow – you got a LOT done! After my fall retreat I was proud of myself when I got a pair of jeans and 75% of top. You must be a super sewer! And I am more than slightly jealous because the location for our annual ASG retreat is a Baptist Conference Center. It is lovely in a beautiful location and the staff are soooo nice … but NO WINE! Granted, my sewing was much more accurate that weekend. Anyways, looks like it was a great weekend.

    1. To be fair, I cut everything out before I got there. If I had been cutting and then sewing, my output would have been a lot lower.

      And sad for no wine at all during sewing time but LOL to accuracy.

  4. Great makes, you’ve been so busy! I’ve not made a Jalie pattern before, I must check them out. I would love to go on a retreat or even a sew meet up but they are always so far away from me and I don’t know any sewers in real life. Maybe I’ll pluck the courage up one day

    1. Jalie is awesome. Definitely check them out; great casual clothes and the fit is really close to ready to wear.

      This is my first ever sewing retreat; there really is nothing communal-sewing-wise in my area geared toward garment seamstresses. It’s really a shame. I have really wanted to even teach sewing in my area for years and have not thus far been able to figure out the logistics.

  5. Sounds like a great weekend! I’m having some serious envy over two and half days of uninterrupted sewing time – It’s no small miracle if I get 2.5 hours!

Leave a Reply

