Sewing

The Christmas PJs

I know, Christmas is done and we’re onto a new year, but I wanted to take a minute to share a project I started last year…family pajamas!

Here’s some photos of the three of us this year at Christmas…

Christmas PJs

The main fabric is the infamous Fairisle Deer Heart jersey from Girl Charlee. I began sewing these family pajamas up in November 2015 (when Cheeks was only 4 months old!) and got pants for daddy and mama done (Simplicity 1285; mine are small, Mr. 5’s are large), as well as one piece B&T Footie Coverall for Cheeks.  Here he is last year, wearing the 6-9 month size…

Christmas PJs
Christmas PJs

For the complementary fabrics, I used a green cotton rib from Girl Charlee, which I had enough of to sew up a top for me post Christmas 2015 (Deer & Doe Plantain:  I LOVE THIS PATTERN and have used it many times but am not sure I’ve actually blogged any of them).

Christmas PJs

Unfortunately, I ran out of both the main deer fabric and green rib when it came to cutting out Mr. 5’s shirt (Simplicity 1285 again, size large), because I ended up needing to make two of them (long story…).  I didn’t want to pay $7.99 to ship a couple of yards from Girl Charlee, so I instead took a chance that this Robert Kaufman Laguna jersey* in red would match well:  and it does!  Because of the spandex, this jersey also works well for the “ribbing” portions of the Footie Coverall.

Christmas PJs
Christmas PJs Christmas PJs

So, uh, enough about logistics.  Here’s some cute pictures of our kid in his PJs!  Otherwise known as chasing my toddler around with a camera.  I made him an 18-24 month size this year and they barely fit.  Holy growth, Batman!

Christmas PJs

I added a zip instead of snaps (like previously) and used some of that handy Dritz no-slip crap for the foot bottoms, since dude is constantly on the go and jersey + hardwoods don’t mix.

Christmas PJs
Christmas PJs Christmas PJs
Christmas PJs Christmas PJs
Christmas PJs Christmas PJsChristmas PJs Christmas PJs
Christmas PJs

Don’t you wanna just go open some presents and take a nap now?  I sure do…

Christmas PJs

PR UFO Contest update:  6 blocks sewn!  “Only” 29 to go.

*Did you know that you can buy many fabrics offered by fabric.com from Amazon (which is kind of a duh, since Amazon bought Fabric.com a few years ago) and they will often ship for free without meeting a minimum spend?  You’re welcome! NAYY!!! (I always think of a horse neighing when I see this)

Save

9 thoughts on “The Christmas PJs”

Leave a Reply

