Life

Oh my Darlin’ Cheeks

Your first birthday has now come and gone.

Cheeks is one

I would be lying if I said the day you were born wasn’t one of my scariest and most painful.  Maybe admitting that makes me a bad mom, maybe it just makes me human.  I am thankful to be in a place now where I have found more peace with how you entered the world.

Cheeks is one

I also had a spot o’ trouble coping with the delay of your birth, which was 15 days after you were due.  Irrational is a nice way of describing my behavior.  Your poor dad.  It was kind of no wonder you didn’t want to come out and meet your (possibly literally) crazy mama.

Cheeks is one

But as I sit and contemplate your first year, thinking about how much you’ve grown and learned, and how very much you have yet to, I feel the prickle of tears.  It has gone so slowly, yet so quickly, this first year of your beautiful life.

Cheeks is one

To say that I treasure you is the understatement of the century.

You are the best decision we have ever made.


Cheeks is one

Your sassy babble is adorable (even if it is mostly da da da da.  Maybe we could insert some “m”s in conjunction with those “a”s?), your long eyelashes (courtesy of your daddy) are enviable, and your head of silky fuzz is finally starting to look like hair.

Cheeks is one

The way you combine a devilish grin with peals of magical baby laughter and crawl away after I beckon “Come here!” (you get this one from both of us, I think).

Cheeks is one

Your lovely blue eyes (mine, with a hint of daddy lurking under the surface), cheeks for days (daddy’s) and 6 itty bitty teeth make for one of the sweetest smiles I have ever seen.

Cheeks is one

It wasn’t always easy like this; daddy rocked you to sleep many nights and there were the times when you only slept 1-2 hours at a time at night.  Plus, all of the fevers and colds, bronchiolitis and ear infections this past Winter and Spring.  But we all got through.

Cheeks is one

I am proud to say that I was able to breastfeed you for your entire first year of life, including pumping at work three times a day for the last nine months.  Breastfeeding is probably one of least intuitive natural things I have ever done.  It was hard in the beginning, but we made it through, and I plan to continue on nursing you until it doesn’t work anymore for one of us.

Cheeks is one

I don’t really know where I am going with this, but you amaze me, and I want the world to know.

Cheeks is one

You are my sunshine
My only sunshine
You make me happy when skies are gray
You’ll never know dear, how much I love you
Please don’t take my sunshine away

Cheeks is one

I will always love you more than I can ever say.

Untitled

Happy Birthday, Baby Boy.

13 thoughts on “Oh my Darlin’ Cheeks”

  1. I MELT!

    Thank you for sharing! And not just all of the awesome and adorable pics from this first year :) Motherhood is an amazing transition – in *many* ways and is probably the most difficult yet rewarding thing many of us will ever do.

    Brava mama; on a fantastic first year!

    Now, get ready to run, jump and bounce and have a well-stocked first aid kit on hand because boys are crazy! :-p

  2. What a wonderful tribute to your beautiful son! I never truly figured how much my parents loved me until Ihad my own kids, because you cannot understand it before.

  3. I smiled the whole time reading this and seeing all the pics of your gorgeous little boy, parenting one of the hardest but best things in this world and should be cherished

  4. Awww, happy birthday baby boy. (late Im sorry but i too have a 1 year old so time is fleeting!).
    Many of your sentiments rang so true to me too. Its just the most wonderful thing waking up to these little boys every morning…even after a hard night sometimes.
    I do love how your little guy is finally producing some real hair. Mine on the other hand has already had to have a haircut – he has a mop of note! :-)

Leave a Reply

