Sewing

A Bucket for my Cheeks

Now that the patriotic parade has passed, back to what I hinted about at the end of my Drop Pocket Cardi post…

Cheeks’s Summer hat:  the Reversible Bucket Hat.

Oliver + S Reversible Bucket Hat

It’s my first Oliver + S pattern, and it was free.  Gotta love free.  More importantly yet, it is good.  My time ain’t cheap (whose is?).

Oliver + S Reversible Bucket HatThis blurry photo is the closest I got to a smile in this hat

This is actually the second hat I’ve made for him from this pattern.  Here’s the first one, which is crafted from quilting cotton his Auntie E gifted to me before Cheeks was born.

Oliver + S Reversible Bucket Hat

Hat #2 was also crafted from quilting cottons.  One side is a stylized mountain print I got from FabricMart (I believe they said it was from Japan?).  I bought enough to make a Mommy & Me or Daddy & Me outfits, so that might happen in the future…

Oliver + S Reversible Bucket Hat

The other side is an idyllic cloud print.  You might recognize it; it’s the same fabric I used for the back of Cheeks’s crib quilt.

Oliver + S Reversible Bucket Hat

The yellow (#1) hat took me maybe 90 minutes to make.  This black/blue (#2) hat took THREE HOURS.  Whuuuut?

Oliver + S Reversible Bucket Hat

Here are the differences between the two:

  1.  Reversibility:  I hand sewed the lining of #2 to make it truly reversible (also edgestitched after hand sewing), and pinned/machine stitched #1 because I was using the same fabric for the lining meaning it didn’t need to be reversible.

Untitled Oliver + S Reversible Bucket Hat

  1. Brim:  I just sewed one round on stitching around the edge of brim #1, which is really all you need.  On #2, I sewed multiple rows of parallel stitching to add interest, and as the pattern says, stability.  Though I’m not convinced those extra lines of stitching added any significant firmness.

 Oliver + S Reversible Bucket HatOliver + S Reversible Bucket Hat

  1. Tie access:  the one thing I added to both hats is the chin ties.  There was no way he was going to keep a hat on his head without some sort of restraint.  For #1, I simply sewed the ties in when sewing the lining shut.  For #2 I needed to have access to the ties from both sides of the hat, so I made buttonholes in the brim near the base of the side band to pull through when the hat is reversed (per a RTW swim hat we have).

Oliver + S Reversible Bucket Hat
Oliver + S Reversible Bucket Hat

Yes, that’s right.  A bit of hand stitching, additional brim stitching and buttonholes DOUBLED my sewing time.  I really love how the reversible one turned out, but not sure it was worth the extra effort.  I’ll definitely skip the multiple rows of stitching on his hats for next Summer.

Oliver + S Reversible Bucket Hat
Ties are a must for babies who hate hats. Which, uh, is pretty much every baby.  Right?  That said, the sizing on this hat starts at a baby XS (6-12 months) goes up to a kid L (6-8 years), which is likely why ties weren’t included with the pattern.  Plus, you know, free. Freeeeeeeee.

Oliver + S Reversible Bucket Hat

His hats are a size small (12-24 months with a 19″ finished circumference), and have been in use since he was 9-10 months old.  But, he does have a statistically enormous noggin for his age, so YMMV.

Oliver + S Reversible Bucket HatRawr!  Tiger baby wears hat

To make the ties, I just cut a 1.5″ x 15″ (or so) piece of fabric along the lengthwise grain, folded in half lengthwise, then folded the edges in to the center.  Then, I folded in one end in so the bottom of each tie was finished, and edge stitched the whole shebang.  I anchored each tie into the hat by stitching to the seam allowance of the side band/brim, and then stitched over them again whilst attaching the lining.

Untitled

Overall, this is a great kiddo hat pattern, and the price is definitely right.  I can see making many more of these in my future for our pasty, pasty boy.

Oliver + S Reversible Bucket Hat
Oliver + S Reversible Bucket Hat
Oliver + S Reversible Bucket Hat

Save

4 thoughts on “A Bucket for my Cheeks”

  1. I love these hats!
    I’m tempted to make one for my boy, but he refuses to let me tie them on to his head. Once it’s legal to staple these things on, I’m going to be all over it (tie will be decorative)
    Really fab makes! Love them.

Leave a Reply

