Sewing

‘Merican Henley

And now second on our tour of the amazingly cheesy clothes of cheeseballness for the 4th of July (see all three of us together here) comes Mr. 5’s henley!

Thread Theory Strathcona Henley

It’s Thread Theory’s Strathcona Henley, to be exact.

Thread Theory Strathcona Henley

This was my second time making this top; the first was for matching PJs for us for Christmas (which I didn’t blog because they didn’t get done in time).  I hadn’t gotten Mr. 5’s PJ top done because I had lost the front (how the hell does that happen?) so I decided I had better cut another front and finish that one as a wearable muslin of sorts for this shirt.

And boy am I glad I did.  That Christmas top, made of a cotton/poly blend with little stretch, fit my hubs like a Polish sausage casing.

Thread Theory Strathcona Henley

This pattern states that you can use stable knits, but that is just not true.  You either need to use a quite stretchy knit, or you should cut a size bigger (or maybe both!).  Mr. 5 has a 43″ chest and the large states it’s for 42-44″.  I thought about cutting a large for this shirt, since this fabric is much stretchier, but I decided to be safe and cut an extra large.

Glad I did, ’cause it fits!  There’s maybe a little excess around the sleeve cap, but everywhere else is pretty good.

Thread Theory Strathcona Henley

Speaking of cutting things close, it was touch and go for a while on whether I would get all three of our garments cut from the fabric I bought:  1 yard of blue stars and 2 1/2 yards of stripes (which was separated into a 2 yard and a half yard piece).  I cut and sewed Cheeks’ romper first, because I was excited…but I really should have laid everything out before cutting to maximize my yardage.

Untitled

I had planned Mr. 5’s top to have one star sleeve and one striped and the color blocking in front.  What I did not plan was for the back of his top to be two different fabrics, but I kinda like how it turned out.  I was going to do all stripes like my dress, but there just was not enough fabric.  And thus we have some intentional and some compulsory color blocking that took place.

Thread Theory Strathcona Henley

I also wasn’t going to cut the neckline with the stripes perpendicular, but I was THAT short on fabric.  There wasn’t a cross-width piece long enough, so it was very lucky that this jersey was a 4-way stretch.

Thread Theory Strathcona Henley

I chose not to put buttons on the placket, so it’s not exactly a henley…or is it?  I thought it made a sort of casual, nice split neck the way it was.  Also:  lazy.

The only other change I made was to the sleeve:  per Mr. 5’s preference, I hacked 3″ off.  I agree that it’s a nice length on him.  Plus, it makes the sleeve coincidentally end very close to the bottom of the color blocking.  Score!

Thread Theory Strathcona Henley

I want to thank my sweet Mr. 5 for wearing this cheery, patriotic monstrosity all day when we were out on the 4th of July.  He was an awesome sport!

* * * * *

Next time:  Cheeks’s romper!  Here’s a couple of sneak peeks for ya…

Thread Theory Strathcona Henley

Cheeseball 4th of July

1 thought on “‘Merican Henley”

Leave a Reply

