Sewing

Mr. Baby Does Spring: Rolled Hem Romper

And here we are to the one-piece portion of our tour.  Brindille & Twig’s 089: Rolled Hem Romper*  AKA pretty much the closest thing to a dress that society thinks is OK for a male baby.

Brindille & Twig:  Rolled Hem RomperI want to nom him up

Made a size 9-12 month, as I have with all others.  I feel like this one piece is a bit roomier than the other pieces.  Nothing wrong with that for a growin’ boy.

 Brindille & Twig:  Rolled Hem Romper

I used a Birch Organic cotton interlock.  Such nice weight, and easy to use, but pricey as shit.  Has anyone found any fabrics similar in character that aren’t $16ish a yard?

Brindille & Twig:  Rolled Hem Romper

I really have nothing but good to say about this pattern.  Well, almost.  As previously mentioned in the post about his bodysuits/onesies, I hate installing snaps.  But, that’s it.  Still mulling over the idea of a snap press.

Brindille & Twig:  Rolled Hem Romper Brindille & Twig:  Rolled Hem Romper

This romper went together SO easily.  Very satisfying, and cute!

Brindille & Twig:  Rolled Hem Romper

Also, instead of cutting a strip of interfacing to reinforce the edge for snaps, I used 1 1/4″ wide SewkeysE woven fusible stay tape.  I use the half inch version of this stuff in woven and knit for all of my edge stabilizing needs (link to all).  I really love it.  It’s a bit pricey from first glance, but you get 25 yards per roll, which will last pretty much forever (NAYY).

Brindille & Twig:  Rolled Hem Romper

The only thing I had to adjust was the length of the pants.  Mr. Cheek’s delectable hamhocks are stupendously chunky, but also a tad short in general.  The pattern calls for both the sleeve and pant/short hem 3/4″-1″ twice (to encase the raw edge).

Brindille & Twig:  Rolled Hem Romper Brindille & Twig:  Rolled Hem Romper

For his pant, I turned these up 1 1/4″ THREE times.  I think this is great, though; when his glorious gams gets a bit longer, I can just fold one of those turns down and he’ll get that much more wear out of this romper!

Brindille & Twig:  Rolled Hem Romper

Quick, satisfying, cute = Rolled Hem Romper.  There will definitely be more for Summer.

Brindille & Twig:  Rolled Hem Romper

Wardrobe completion:
5 out of 10 reviewed (1 2 3 4) and blogged (1 2 3)

Brindille & Twig:  Rolled Hem Romper

*This is a referral link.  You’ll help support my munchkin pattern and fabric habit if you happen to purchase after clicking through.

8 thoughts on “Mr. Baby Does Spring: Rolled Hem Romper”

    1. Yes! I wasn’t sure about this fabric choice when I first got it in the mail, but once it was done…I was very happy.

      Snap installation sucks ass, but the SnapSetter (that’s the brand, I think) I have works so much better than other tools I’ve used, but is still not fool-proof. I am still pondering getting a heavy duty press, but I have so many crafting tools already…

Leave a Reply

