Quilting

Crib Quilt: Baby Boy Style

Wow, I didn’t realize how long it had been since I last posted.  I was kind of on a roll with the maternity wardrobe, though, so it’s good to have a bit of a breather after completing that.

Speaking of which, I didn’t win Pattern Review’s Wardrobe Contest (Nor was I expecting to.  Haha.  Expecting.  See what I did there?) but am so glad I joined in:  8 more pieces of clothing to my tiny maternity wardrobe is quite the boost, and I’ve been wearing almost all of them regularly!   Also, my buddy, the lovely sewing Energizer Bunny Nakisha, got second place!  Woohoo!  Awesomesauce.

Anywho, eyes on the prize.  I finally finished my little guy’s quilt, and on the day of my baby shower!

Baby Boy Crib Quilt Baby Boy Crib Quilt
Four legged quilt!

And I couldn’t be more thrilled with how it turned out.

The story of his crib quilt starts where many other creative endeavors find their roots now-a-days:  Pinterest.

After just a short time searching, I found this lovely tutorial/pattern from the blog Ricochet and Away and decided it was the one:

Baby quilt inspiration

And then it was time to choose my fabrics.

I’ve had this cloud fabric in my stash for quite a while; I obtained it from a quilting cotton/home dec fabric wholesale ordering group on Yahoo! that was around for quite a while and then *poof* disappeared overnight.  I felt pretty bad for everyone that was still waiting for fabric they’d paid for and had no recourse, but was relieved I didn’t have any outstanding orders.  Since it happened, I’ve been pretty shy about those sorts of groups.

Baby Boy Crib Quilt

The rest of the fabrics I got from…Hobby Lobby.  Even though I am politically mostly-apathetic woman, I live in a liberal city, have a liberal husband, and believe no one else should have a thing to say about what you do with your own body.

I am not proud to support a company that doesn’t support the reproductive rights of their female employees, but I bought the rest of the fabric from there because it was most convenient place at the time.  And, ya know, because I liked it.  Shame.

Baby Boy Crib Quilt

Baby Boy Crib Quilt

Baby Boy Crib Quilt

OK, off of the soapbox.

This is the first quilt I’ve made that’s bigger than about 18″ square (this one is about 42″ x 54″), and my second attempt at quilting (first was this doll quilt for my niece) since…middle school.  So, a good 20 years ago (Crap!  When did I get old?).

My Aunt Carol has been quilting for years, so I naturally asked her if she could help, and give me any hints and tips.  She made the process SO fast and easy:  thank you, Aunt Carol!  We both cut the quilt out together, and while I sewed the squares, she cut them again (see link/tutorial above for the process used) and pressed them.

I took the squares home, got them situated, and sewed them together, then pieced the back.

Baby Boy Crib Quilt

Somebody wants in on the action…

Baby Boy Crib Quilt Baby Boy Crib Quilt

Then, Aunt Carol and I had another sewing day where we used roughly 1 million safety pins to make a “sandwich” (makes me hungry), with a “Warm and Natural” crib sized batting as the meat of the sammie.

I then quilted a bit differently than the example:  I stitched in the ditch on every seam, while the original looks like she sewed a 1/4″ away from the seam and only quilted the differently colored triangles and left the solid areas as large channels.  Different strokes for different folks!

The only thing I’m not completely satisfied with is the stitch quality, which can be seen on the back of the quilt.  It’s all weird and jagged for reasons I can’t really explain.  I swear I know how to stitch in a straight line!  My only guesses for the reason are:  I started with a size 14 needle that was a bit too small (all diagonal quilting) and ended up switching to a 16 for the quilting that’s parallel/perpendicular to the quilt edge.  I also suspect that my choice of variegated thread also probably caused some visual weirdness. I also went with a slightly heavier than all purpose thread (30 wt), but not sure that makes any difference.

Baby Boy Crib Quilt

I just tell myself that nobody gives a shit about any imperfections but me.  The baby sure as heck isn’t gonna care.  He’s going to be busy with the business of eating, sleeping and poo/peeing.  And, ya know, being cute.  Important baby stuff like that.

I hand stitched the quilt binding to the back because I couldn’t bring myself to machine stitch it.  It looks soooo nice when done by hand, but takes so long.

Baby Boy Crib Quilt
Another puppybomb!

Baby Boy Crib Quilt

So, that’s that!  I’ll leave you with a photo of the quilt in its natural habitat.  Which is not completely set up yet, but we’re workin’ on it.

Baby Boy Crib Quilt Baby Boy Crib Quilt Baby Boy Crib Quilt

Less than 6 weeks until my due date…

Next up:  Another muumuu and my baby shower frock.

Save

12 thoughts on “Crib Quilt: Baby Boy Style”

  1. The quilt turned out beautiful! I don’t find your stitches so bad. From experience of doing a few quilts and my mom is an avid quilter, it does help when you sandwich your quilt to use some basting spray (do this outside….ask me how I know this ;) and I also pin the hell out of it starting from the middle and move outwards through all three layers with safety pins, and last but not least use a walking foot very important, you will notice a much improvement in the quilted stitch quality :)

    Awesome decorated back of the quilt too by the way so much detail, love the hand slip stitching it looks so neat and tidy. Best wishes for your final few weeks, get lots of rest :)

    1. I’ve heard of the basting spray, but I was afraid of it for the unsaid reason you cited… ;) We started in the middle and pinned the center of each triangle.

      And thank you for the well wishes! :)

  2. Ahhhh the back piecing turned out great!! It looks right at home in his room too!

    Quilting is kinda hard, yo. I’m making a full sized quilt for Dougie. That’s going to the quilting shop. For sure.

    6 more weeks!? Squeeeee!

  3. Your quilt is beautiful — I’m taking a free motion class from Angela Walters and her favorite saying is “my quilt is perfectly imperfect!”

  4. Oh my goodness Jess, his quilt is so beautiful!! And I love the repeated puppybombs. “Yeah, this quilt…it’s nice and all, but let’s get back to meeeeeeeeeee!” Good luck with the remaining weeks–how exciting!!

    (As for that soapbox, I wholeheartedly approve! -Sent from my bigger, louder, usually swear-wordier soapbox down the block ;-) )

    1. Aww, thanks Mads. Him and his little legs were just too cute to leave out.

      Yeah for swear wordier soapboxes! I’m trying to rein myself in so I don’t end up with a toddler with the mouth of a sailor. We’ll see how that goes…haha…

Leave a Reply

