Sewing

TBT: His n’ Hers Avocados

Welcome to Throwback Thursday!  Today I’ll be showing you our Mr. and Mrs. 5 Avocado Hoodies, by Seamster Patterns (formerly Disparate Disciplines, which is what they were called when I downloaded the patterns).

His n' Hers Avocado Hoodies

I finished Mr. 5’s hoodie on February 1, 2014, in time for me to gift it to him for Valentine’s Day, and got mine done on February 13, 2014.

Pattern-wise, you can purchase the women’s hoodie, the men’s hoodie, or you can get both at once, which is what I opted for because I knew I wanted to make one for each of us.  I hate taping printable patterns together with a passion.  So much so, that when the hopeful possibility of printed patterns was announced on her website, (I had missed the Kickstarter where you could get a paper pattern) I emailed poor Mari every month or so to see when/if they would be available.

In the end, I’m glad I didn’t wait and just went through the pain of working with the printable PDF, because a printed paper version is still not available.  And I’ll say this:  it was worth it.

If you don’t know the sweet back story behind the design, you need to watch this video now (start at 2:50 if you don’t want to watch the whole thing).

HIS

His Avocado Hoodie

His Avocado Hoodie

I made Mr. 5’s hoodie out of a slightly stretchy sweatshirt knit that has a boucle-like backside, instead of fleece.  I can’t remember where I picked this up, but I think probably at JoAnn.

His Avocado Hoodie

His Avocado Hoodie
Puppy break!

Size-wise, I made him a Medium, which was recommended for his chest measurement.  I’m very happy with how the whole thing fits; go Seamster!

His Avocado Hoodie
His Avocado Hoodie

These hoodies have a fair number of pieces, but they go together smooth as buttah.

HERS

Her Avocado HoodieCheck out those carefully spaced owls!

Her Avocado Hoodie

I made most of my hoodie from a cute owl sweatshirt fleece I picked up at Fabric.com many moons ago.

Her Avocado HoodieBack of the hood could’ve used some owl matching love…

Her Avocado Hoodie

I used the same fabric as Mr. 5’s hoodie for the contrast sides, lower band, and cuffs.  Speaking of cuffs; love them!  Yay for toasty hands.

Her Avocado Hoodie

Seamster offers directions on how to do an FBA, but I just cut my hoodie and graded between sizes based on the recommended bust (M) and hip (S) measurements, and am very happy with fit.  Again:  go Seamster!

Her Avocado Hoodie
Her Avocado Hoodie

I used scraps of striped rayon jersey, leftover from another unblogged potential TBT make, for the pocket lining:

Her Avocado Hoodie

The only change I made on these was to sew the neck facing down a bit closer to the edge than recommended (which also makes it peek out on occasion; boo).  So, not much of a change at all.  The neck facing is also the one thing I’m unsure I like about the hoodie.  I think maybe a bound and stitched edge would be better, but the prescribed solution is by no means bad.

His Avocado Hoodie
Her Avocado Hoodie

I really like how the hoods are actually the correct size for our heads.  I have sewn up many a hooded item that barely fit, and I don’t feel like I have a big noggin.

Her Avocado Hoodie

And, of course, I also love all of the sweet pockets that your love can use to put his/her arm around you and still stay warm..  Such a cool idea!

His Avocado Hoodie
Her Avocado Hoodie
Awwwwww

I may be a little late to the game on these Avocado Hoodies, but I’m glad I showed up.

Also, there are more photos of me because Mr. 5 excels at garment photography way more than I do.  ;)

8 thoughts on “TBT: His n’ Hers Avocados”

Leave a Reply

