Sewalong

No Dice

So, I got eliminated from the Fabric Mart Fashion Challenge 2.

First things first, thank you for your support and all of your kind comments.  :)  I really appreciate it.

I’m a little sad, and it was really an interesting contest to partake in (thanks for picking me, Fabric Mart!), but I’m also happy that now I’ll get to go back to making what I want to make.

Though, it again makes me wish that I had gone the safe route with a knit piece of clothing, because knits are easy to fit and, IMO, provide much more predictable results (and I have a couple of almost TNTs that would’ve worked well).  However, what’s done is done and the complexity of the garment wasn’t taken into account in judging, as far as I know.

I also don’t feel that my garment was the worst fitting (I do know it has some issues), but that’s subjective and I’m just a tad biased, and half of the scores are based on a vote from the general populous, so if you have more readers, you pretty much automatically get a better score.

I worked on two muslins over the weekend for this challenge:  a shirt and a dress, to help my decision process on which one to make.  After neither of them fit awesomely or seemed like they had super easy fit fixes, I told Mr. 5 that I was not having fun.  And isn’t this contest supposed to be in the spirit of fun?  The prizes are nice, but the grand prize isn’t exactly a car.

After that realization, I decided to get down to the nuts and bolts of this contest and my motivation, I asked myself:  “What am I [emotionally] getting out of this?”  After I spent much of the weekend curled in in pain from stupid dental crap, (which has now been diagnosed – I’ll be getting a crown on Wednesday, but luckily don’t need a root canal.  Thanks for all of your kind words!) and then busted my ass until early Tuesday morning (I still haven’t caught up on my sleep) after the deadline changed, I couldn’t really provide an answer.

Yes, it’s a shot in the arm when you do make it on to the next round, but what am I trying to prove?  Couldn’t find an answer for that, either.  I’m disappointed that I won’t be doing third challenge, which involves copying a RTW garment.  I had mine picked out and really would’ve hit it out of the park.

In the end, sewing is about enjoyment.  What do you have if you don’t have that?

Anywho, after all of this “woe is me” and all that, I just want to say that Ann truly deserved her win this week. Her gorgeous dress was beautifully fitted around some pretty daunting fit challenges and impeccably sewn in the trickiest fabric of them all.  Well, well deserved.  :)

Good luck to the remaining contestants, and can’t wait to see what you come up with!

24 thoughts on “No Dice”

  1. I’m gonna miss obsessively emailing about the challenges!! :-)

    If it becomes un-fun then bleh. Bleh bleh bleh! Like you I decided to “go for it” rather than be safe. And I still like your shirt and it’s irridescentness!

  2. Noooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo! What a MAJOR loss for the contest! Seriously. For reals. I was figuring you to be in the final round. But really, the judging is all subjective. Just look at last year’s contest, Shams (the HIGHLY skilled lady of Communing with Fabric) of all us seamstresses was eliminated only a few weeks in. It’s just a casual sewing contest not meant to dictate how amazing of a seamstress you are. I love your blog and all your work. Now just imagine all the $$ from not buying more fabric for the contest! It adds up!! Go celebrate by buying some juicy wool or silks for some juicy winter coat or dress.

      1. (PS… Your work was NOT the worst or close to being worthy of being booted… shh… don’t tell anyone I said that… I’m not one to be a sewing blog mean girl :)

        Everyone really did their very best and I bet went out on a limb to do this challenge, now that was obvious to me! I loved seeing it all!!!

  3. What a huge bummer! I agree wholeheartedly with Kathy Sews….she was spot on. I had forgotten that Shams was eliminated early on. Maybe you should make your RTW copy anyway and we’ll see how it compares to the remaining contestants. ;)

    I’m still a big fan of yours :)

  4. Oh, that is a pity. I was too late with voting. I think you did a wonderful job, I really, really loved the fit around the bust. My challenge area as well so I can truly relate to that. But hey, why shouldn’t you make the RTW knock off, if it is something you really want to make? And if not, well, so many other beautiful things to make ;)

  5. Oh no, what a bummer! Ann’s dress was a knockout, but I had pegged you and Nakisha (I’ve been rooting for you both) easily as “safe” for this week. I’m going to guess that fitting issues by figure didn’t figure into the consideration (no pun intended) because anyone who’s ever tried to fit a button-down blouse on a full-busted figure knows that that’s just as difficult of a task as trying to fit a sheath dress.

  6. I am so sad you are gone, too. Was going to email you first, but I will comment here first then email. I LOVE your shirt, as you know, so for what’s that worth?

    Anyhow, I am super stoked to read you don’t have to have a root canal, been there DO NOT WANT TO EVER GO BACK THERE. Take care of yourself in the meantime, though. Curl up with something snuggly and take time to feel better.

  7. Add me to the list of folks who are very bummed that you are out of the contest–you are very talented and I was completely shocked that you weren’t moving on. But like you said, it’s so subjective; sometimes you just don’t know exactly what the judges are looking for until they tell you that you didn’t give it to them. =/ (My urge to talk shit is STRONG but I won’t do that here, LOL.) Treat yourself to something indulgent–expensive fabric for whatever the fuck YOU want to make, or perhaps a nice dinner out for any/no reason at all–and feel better soon! <3

    1. Thanks, Mads. I also have a love of talking shit, that I attempted to rein in while writing this post. I know it’s not all about other people, though, and that my shirt was not perfect (what is?).

      I think I will be treating myself to a new crown for my tooth this week. Uh…hooray? :(

  8. I’m sorry to see you go, Jess. I thought you did a great job, and I know how much work making a button front shirt is, and you did it with a major toothache as well! I hope that you are feeling better, and just have fun this weekend!

  9. Sad to see you go. Just remember that you are a talented sewist and the contest is subjective. I was surprised to see knits in a fitting challenge. You embraced the spirit of the challenge and did a great job. You worked on a complex project, did a flawless fitting and the judges did not see that. Stay true to yourself.

Leave a Reply

