Knitting

Percy

I alluded to Percy last month, and here he is:

Percy Shawlette

I made this Percy Shawlette, designed by Sanne Kalkman, out of a hank of yarn given to me by my coworker at our company Secret Santa exchange last year. I more than suspect that his crocheter/spinner wife may have had something to do with that. ;)  I would tell you which yarn it is, but I seem to have misplaced (AKA thrown away) the tag.  I can tell you that it’s very soft, and while it’s labeled as lace weight, I would call it a light fingering weight yarn.

Percy Shawlette

There’s really not much to say about it…it was a pretty easy knit: there was no part of it that made me want to curse the Gods, and I got it done in less than a month.

Percy Shawlette

I’m not usually much of a scarf-for-the-sake-of-fashion sort of person. Similar to my use of hats, my use of scarves is typically utilitarian: for warmth. However, I’ve found myself wearing this one not just to stave off the first chills of Autumn, but also as an addition to my outfits. Weird.

Percy Shawlette

Percy Shawlette

Percy Shawlette

Percy Shawlette

Percy Shawlette

And while we’re on the subject of hand knits, here’s a preview of my newest self-designed scarf:

Untitled

Untitled

It’s a redo of a faux Moebius scarf I made a couple of years ago that has been my Winter staple ever since its creation. When it started getting a bit nippy this year, I dove into the Winter Things bin and it was nowhere to be found. :( I still had some of the same lovely alpaca yarn left, so instead of dwelling, I decided to start a new one immediately. The pattern isn’t exactly the same, but the function will be.

4 thoughts on “Percy”

Leave a Reply

