Sewing

Textile Tuesday: May 2013

Well, it’s Textile Tuesday again, and I when I began writing this post, I thought I had just bought a couple pieces of fabric.  Then, I realized that I had a shipment come in April AFTER last month’s TT…and then got another one last week.  Needless to say, as always, I’m naughty.  Darn sales at Fabric Mart (everything in this post is from there!). Here’s what I ended up with:

2 yards of a Maggy London border print ITY jersey:

DSCF5405

I picked this up for $2.40 a yard. The first thing that came to mind when I pulled it out of the box was a maxi dress, but I’m not sure the fabric is really my style – the flowers are pretty huge (~7″ across). I think maybe a shorter dress may be more fitting, but we’ll see what I end up with.

1 1/2 yards of chili red bamboo jersey:

DSCF5401Sorry for the shadow; this photo was truest to color

This one was a bit pricier, at $12.99 a yard. But my, oh my is it nice and soft. I’ve heard that bamboo can be difficult to work with, and it is a bit thin, but I think it will make a really lovely garment. I didn’t get too much because of the price, but I definitely have enough to make a skirt, nice top, or maybe another nightgown.

2 1/4 yards rayon challis:

DSCF5399

I actually ordered 2.5 yards of this, hoping to make Butterick 5846, but I was shorted about a 1/4 of a yard. I’ll bet I can still eke the dress out of this yardage, though. I’d also like to add that Fabric Mart was very responsive when I emailed them about the problem. Can’t say enough about their excellent customer service.

2 1/4 yards wool/rayon jersey:

DSCF5404

This piece was $5.99 a yard.  Yeah, I know it’s nearing summer, but when I saw these part wool knits at the latest 40% sale, I couldn’t help but throw these next couple in the shopping cart. I have no idea what I’m going to make with this, and it is rather delicate, but it feels wonderful and I bet it will be nice and warm. The fabric care indicated “dry clean only” but I am not a dry clean girl…handwash or delicate cycle cold wash or go home. I ended up laundering this with a couple of other fabrics and it got a little fuzzy, but not terribly so. I think whatever is made from this will end up being a hand washed item.

1 3/4 yards wool/rayon interlock:

DSCF5407

This stuff feels amaaaaazing, and was also $5.99 a yard. I’m happy that I got the last 1.75 yards of it, but at the same time wishing I could’ve gotten at least one more yard. It’s luxurious and has great body, and it washed up great in the washing machine (cold water; delicate cycle).  Again, not really sure what I’m going to do with this, but I probably won’t cut into it until Fall at the earliest.

2 1/4 yards cotton interlock:

DSCF5406

I’m not sure what I thought this would be like, but I was hoping not like this.  At least it was only $3.59 a yard.  It’s not very soft, but I’m sure I can figure out something to do with it…

Lastly, I got 2 1/4 yards of this rayon/spandex jersey:

DSCF5413

$3.59 a yard as well.  I don’t have specific plans this this yet, either, but it will make a great top, skirt or dress!

2013 Fabric Stash Resolution Status

Yards purchased in May: 8.5
Yards used in May: 13.5

Total yards purchased: 39 3/4
Total yards used: 43 1/3

Total yards stashed (+) or used (-): -3.9
Goal on track? Yup!

P.S. Just checked my email and found out that my profile has been featured on the front page of Pattern Review today!  How cool!

Featured on PR!

6 thoughts on “Textile Tuesday: May 2013”

  1. Ok, keep me posted on the floral border print-I got it as a bundle and don’t really see the vision yet! I also got the challis and made a super secret skirt project out of it- it’s so whimsical and fun! i’ve got to try some bamboo jersey- is it easy to deal with?

    1. Will do! Whatever I make of it, I suspect it will be a quick project.

      Ooo…super secret skirt…excited to see it!

      This will be my first foray into bambooland, so I will report back on that question!

Leave a Reply

