Knitting, Sewing, Soaping

Secret Project reveal: Christmas gifts!

As I’ve mentioned in some past posts, I decided to make a few Christmas gifts this year. Here’s what I came up with!

Last year I started my Christmas gift crafting WAY early. We’re talking August (early for me! Maybe not for some). And I successfully finished a total of 8 pairs of socks for my mom, dad, Mr. 5, sister, bro-in-law, nephew, cousin, and cousin’s boyfriend.

socks
Most of them

They seemed like they went over pretty well…who doesn’t like a nice pair of toasty socks? However, I decided this year that knitting on a fairly tight schedule for 4 months straight didn’t seem so appealing.

So, this year I decided to do something a little different – I made one thing for the ladies and another thing for the guys.

Here are the cardis I ended up with for my mom, sister and cousin:

DSCF4375

It was a little tricky to figure out how I should get measurements for these…wouldn’t they all know what I was up to? In my attempt throw everyone off, I measured their chest, bicep and head, regardless of whether they were getting a hat or a cardigan. Once I got to the head, they were all pretty much “WTF?” so I’m thinking that tactic was fairly successful.

I made everyone Jalie 2919, because, well, I love mine. And even if they decide they don’t feel it’s quite their style (AKA don’t want to wear it out of the house), it’s a great cardi to lounge in.

DSCF4342
Mom’s in charcoal

DSCF4348
K’s in purple

DSCF4336
A’s in light gray

These were a little bit of a struggle to get done, but only because I am just not a fan of pattern tracing and the cutting process is always a chore. But, really, they all didn’t take that long.

For the guys, I started the first hat on December 2nd…which is a little later than I intended, but I used large enough yarn that I was able to get them each done in just a few days. Whew!

Here they are!

DSCF4470
Dad’s

Untitled
Mr. 5’s

DSCF4473
Z’s

I also decided to make some soap as part of my Christmas crafting, which I do the ol’ fashioned way with sodium hydroxide (LYE!) and oils.  I have a standard recipe that I’ve cultivated through some trial and error, which I combine with fragrance or essential oils and colorants, but I decided I wanted to create a new soap that could stand alone.

DSCF3986

I’m calling this completely unadorned (no scents or colors) wonder “Just Soap.”  It was inspired by my boss, who is sensitive to scents, and a coworker’s wife, who is allergic to many foods.

I use shea butter (which comes from the shea nut – who knew?) in my normal soap recipe, and I read online that people with nut allergies can have problems with shea butter, even with topical products such as soap.  I just wanted to try my hand at making a soap that people with all sorts of sensitivities could use without worry.  :)

Last, but not least, I made this sweater for a special little bear. :)

sweater

How about you? Gift anything handmade this year?

Save

6 thoughts on “Secret Project reveal: Christmas gifts!”

  1. Hi Jess! I just found you, through a Pattern Review you did on the wardrobe jacket. I like your blog, I’m getting some good ideas. I also make soap and gave that away to coworkers this year.
    Thanks for sharing.
    Amie

  2. Your projects came out awesome! I especially like the sweaters. They look very comfy.
    I made 7 aprons for Christmas gifts, and posted the blog last week. You were smart to do different gifts. I got pretty tired of aprons by the end of it.

  3. Oh my you have been busy! WHat great gifts! I love the socks… I’m hoping to learn to knit this year and making socks is one of my main motivations. With a new baby coming in March though I’m not sure it’s so realistic, but a worthwhile goal none the less. I love your tactic for getting measurements while keeping the final project a surprise! Brilliant!!

Leave a Reply

