Home, Sewing

STOCKINGS!

As much as I love sewing up the identical blocks of my Christmas quilt, sometimes I just need some variety. Truth be told, I’m also kind of missing selfishly making garments for myself as well. I’ve been up to some secret Christmas gift projects on the side, but I also wanted to make something special for Mr. 5 and my first Christmas living together!

I bring you Secret Project JJOS:

DSCF4090

And here they are! Stockings made with some delicious Jason Yenter Wintergraphix (collection I, II, or III? Beats me) quilting fabrics that I picked up last year, but could never find a project worthy enough for. For the cuff, I used a dark green velvet that my mom got for me from the American Girl employee sale years ago.

2012 - 12 December1
So. Delightful.

I love the tradition of stockings. The idea of secretly putting little gifts that you think the other person would love inside, and the fact that they magically appear on Christmas morning.

I never thought I would actually use any of the three alphabets that came with my sewing machine, but I guess never say never!

2012 - 12 December
Who knew?

Also – can’t forget about the puppy. Santa loves to fill his stocking, too.

DSCF4094

DSCF4104Rudolph is my favorite Christmas movie! Plus, I thought that Oscar would like the “sled dogs.”

All together, now:

Make your own Christmas stocking from existing

And there’s gotta be some innards pictures. Remember that Christmas fabric that bled/got ruined? Makes great lining!

DSCF4099

I lined Oscar’s with the burlap I used for the cuff (which I mistakenly sent once upon a time in a Fabric.com order…glad I finally found something to use it for!), but I don’t recommend it. Gives the stocking nice body, but it’s too loosely woven…I poked a hole in the heel of the lining when pushing it into the stocking.

DSCF4103

I was going to write a full on tutorial for making these, but ended up not taking enough pictures, despite making three of them. I got a little lackadaisical with the documentation. Here’s some information a few photos on the process!

1. Find an existing stocking you like the shape of. Trace around that bad boy. Alternately, just make some shit up – draw your own stocking shape! True up using a french curve and ruler. Make sure to add seam allowances – I ended up doing 1/4″ around the stocking and 1/2″ along the top.

DSCF4003

DSCF4014

2. Measure your top of your stocking and draft a cuff. My stocking pattern was 7″ wide up top, and I decided I wanted my cuff to be 4″ long. Keep in mind you’ll be folding it in half, so you’ll want twice your cuff length (AKA 4+4 = 8″) and there are two sides to the stocking, which means if one side is 7″, then the total circumference will be 14″. Again, add seam allowances. I used a 1/4″ seam allowance on the sides and 1/2″ seam allowance on the top and bottom of the cuff. My total measurement for my cuff pattern piece with seam allowances ended up being 14 1/2″ wide by 9″ long.

DSCF4024

3. Time to cut! You’ll need to cut 1 cuff, and 2 each of your main fabric and lining of the stocking. Not pictured: you’ll also need a 6″ by 1 1/2″ piece of the cuff fabric to make a hanger.

DSCF4036

DSCF4036

I originally thought I was going to quilt these, then sew together, but then decided I liked the fabric without stitching lines. However, with only 2 layers of quilting cotton, they really didn’t end up firm enough, so they probably won’t look too hot when they’re loaded up. I’d recommend underlining the main fabric with cotton duck, sew-in interfacing, or a thin cotton batting (I only had lofty poly batting on hand).

4. Sew around the stocking with right sides together, leaving the top open and using the same seam allowance that you put into the pattern (I used 1/4″).

DSCF4048

Clip the curves around the heel and the toe (sorry, no pic!). Turn right side out and press.

5. Sew the stocking lining similarly to the stocking, starting with your normal seam allowance at the top, (mine was 1/4″) graduating out to a 1/8″ to 1/4″ larger seam allowance, so it will fit inside the stocking properly. (I used a 3/8″ SA, but 1/2″ would probably work better). Leave a 3 to 4 inch gap in the middle back, so you can turn this puppy right side out later.

Reinforce lining from the ankle, around the heel, foot, and toe to the other side of the ankle 1/8″ into the seam allowance. Trim close to stitching.

6. Sew short ends (depth-wise) of cuff together (my pattern = 1/4″ seam allowance). Press, then fold so wrong sides are together and raw edges align. If you are using velvet, like I did, do not press down…hold iron above wrong side of fabric and steam. Pin cuff to outside of stocking so raw edges meet. Be sure the seam of the cuff aligns with the back (heel) seam of the stocking. Baste 1/4″.

8. To make hanger, fold your 6″ by 1 1/2″ piece of fabric in half lengthwise, then tuck raw edges in to meet the center. Edgestitch. Baste hanger to cuff with one end on either side of the vertical seam.


I didn’t get an accurate pic of this step, but this is the manner in which you would pin the hanger to the outside of the cuff. Do not pin directly to the stocking as shown, or you will have a useless hanger just chillin’ between your stocking and cuff.

9. Put stocking inside of lining. Pin, and stitch using your SA (mine = 1/2″)

10. Pull stocking out through the hole left in the lining. Edgestitch the lining hole closed. Tuck lining into stocking, and huzzah! Completed.


It emerges!

DSCF4093

Woohoo Stockings!!! Let me know if you have any questions or need anything clarified. :)

Christmas crafting stats:
Christmas projects started: 7 (6 gifts, quilt, and stockings (AKA Mystery Project JJOS))
Christmas projects finished: 5 (5 gifts and stockings)
Number of days until Christmas Eve: 5

2 thoughts on “STOCKINGS!”

Leave a Reply

