Baking

Christmas Goodies: Aunt Diana’s Kahlua Fudge

This fudge has been a delicious Christmas staple in my family for years – I couldn’t really tell you how long; it just seems like it has always been around. Growing up, my Aunt Diana would make many batches of this delicious confection every year, and every year she would always gift a brick of it to my dad. I remember staring it in the fridge, knowing how special it was, and wishing I was in the fudge gifting club.

Aunt Diana was an amazing baker and cook, and she LOVED Christmas so much. She was with us much too short of a time, and it only seems right that I share her beloved fudge recipe today, on the 5th anniversary of her passing. So, here’s a fudgey toast in honor of her memory; a shout out and some love to my dear Aunt Diana.

Aunt Diana's Kahlua Fudge

1/4 C Kahlua
1 1/3 C sugar
7 oz jar of marshmallow creme
2/3 C evaporated milk
1/4 c butter
1/4 tsp salt
2 C semi-sweet chocolate chips
1 C milk chocolate chips
1/2 C chopped walnuts or pecans (optional)
1 tsp vanilla
First, gather your ingredients

DSCF4123

If you’re making a single batch, as listed above, I’d recommend a 5 qt sauce pan for cooking, and either a large loaf pan (pictured) if you’re giving a whole brick to someone, or an 8×8 pan if you’re going to cut into squares and package as shown above.

DSCF4126

Or, if you’d like to make a double batch, I’d recommend a stock pot and a 9×13 pan. Whatever you choose, make sure to line it in foil!

DSCF4124

Before starting to cook, I like to have my chocolate chips, vanilla, lined pan, and nuts (if you’re using them) prepped and ready for action.

DSCF4141

Combine sugar, marshallow creme, Kahula, salt, evaporated milk and butter in a large saucepan.

DSCF4193

Cook over medium to medium-high heat, bringing to a rapid boil. Make sure to stir! Here’s what it will look like along the way.

DSCF4195
DSCF4207
DSCF4213

When it gets to boiling, (takes about 10 minutes to get there for me) stir constantly for an additional 5 minutes. Make sure you keep stirring or you’ll have some burned bits in your fudge. It will probably still be pretty delicious regardless, though.

DSCF4226
DSCF4229

Remove from heat. Add chocolate chips and stir.

DSCF4238
DSCF4242
DSCF4243
DSCF4245
DSCF4247

Add nuts and vanilla.

DSCF4177

Pour into a foil lined pan and refrigerate until firm

DSCF4249

<3

DSCF4275

Save

3 thoughts on “Christmas Goodies: Aunt Diana’s Kahlua Fudge”

  1. I attempted to make this today. Thanks for the step by step. I’ve never made fudge before. I didn’t have kahlua so I used baileys. Hope it turns out.

Leave a Reply

