RSS Feed

Where to begin…

Firstly, Happy New Year!  2013 was pretty awesome, and 2014 promises to be even more exciting for me (and Mr. 5).  More on both of those things at a later time.

Secondly, I’m feeling a bit really behind these days.  I’ve done a bunch of sewing, and some knitting, but zero blogging in the last couple of months, and I’m having some trouble figuring out where to begin again.  But, it’s like anything,  If I let myself get bogged down in the logistics, I’ll never start again.  So, time to jump in.

I have a backlog about a mile long, and I’m going to start with the items I made as Christmas gifts, and then share a recap of my trip to NYC in November (woot!).  Then, a parade of everything I made but didn’t blog in 2013, ending with a yearly recap, which I hope to have in the books by the end of January.  Whew.

But first, I have a decision to make and I’m just not sure which direction to go.  It’s my birthday on the 19th (31!  Egads.) and I am having trouble deciding what I should make for my birthday dress.  I already know the fabric, though:  this delicious navy blue silk twill from Fabric Mart.

forecast

I have 3 1/2 yards to work with.  My first thought was Colette Hawthorne:

hawthorne

I would want to make the 3/4 length sleeve version, since it’s Winter and all, but I don’t know that I have enough fabric for it.  I have a feeling I could probably eke it out, though.

Speaking of Winter, check out our forecast.  Specifically, the low on Sunday and the temperature all day on Monday.  Fuck.  Sometimes profanity is necessary.

silk twillSeriously, WTF.

Anywho, back on track.  Here are some other patterns in my collection that I’m considering:

Butterick 5951

B5951

My silk does have nice drape, but being a twill and all, I’m not sure it’s fluid enough for this silhouette, which recommends challis, crepe, etc.

Simplicity 1802

S1802

I picked this bad boy up immediately after it was released.  I was so convinced that I would be whipping it up ASAP.  LOL.  Right.  Pretty cool dress, though!

Or, this new Vogue pattern looks fun, and includes a handy pick-a-cup bust:

Vogue 8972

V8972

Print

I’m partial to the fuller-skirted version, AKA D-F, and could always use just pop the sleeve from C onto one.  Loving a few patterns in the new Vogue Spring 2014 collection, BTW.

So, thoughts?  Go with my knee-jerk gut thought of Hawthorne (which has already been ordered regardless), hit one of these other pretties up for the birthday frock, or should I consider a completely different dress?

About sometimessewist

Howdy! I’m Jess, a 30-something midwesterner who loves ice cream, Martinis, and makin’ things. When I’m not sewing, knitting, or learning some new craft, I’m reading, spending time with my guy, or plotting my next project.

17 responses »

  1. Happy almost birthday and here’s to a great 2014.

    Reply
  2. That forecast is seriously NOT funny! I voted for the Vogue :)

    Reply
  3. Let’s hear it for January babes! Mine’s a little later in the month, but we’ll rep it just the same. I love the vintage-y feel of the Butterick, but I’m liking the Vogue for the fabric. Happy (early) birthday! :)

    Reply
  4. Welcome back and happy new year! Your fabric looks so beautiful, I’ve been wanting to sew with a silk twill badly so I’m exited to see what you whip up.

    And I totally agree with you on vogues new spring lineup…there look to be a few gems! I’m just waiting for a sale now to pick them up!

    Reply
  5. I voted for the Vogue. I really like the Simplicity and it would look great on you. However, I’ve read reviews that suggest it’s drafted for a small bust, so you’d probably have to do substantial alterations with a deadline looming. And the Vogue shouldn’t have that problem – also maybe you could add piping details to it, if you liked that look. I’m guessing your fabric wouldn’t like the gathers on the Butterick dress.

    Reply
  6. lol. I live in Western Wisconsin (by La Crosse) so I have the same crappy forecast. WTF is up with -60 windchills?? yuck yuck. Great time to catch up on some sewing. Hubs and I were laughing that when it reaches 20 degrees next week we will think it’s spring. ;-)

    I voted for the Butterick 5951 because I love the look and shape of it – however, as you noted, I’m not sure the twill would drape as you want it to for that one. I see from the tally I’m outnumbered anyway ;-)

    Happy New Year, Happy Bday early, and stay warm!

    Reply
  7. I’m thinking the weave of that fabric will look lovely with the Vogue this shape will really suit you, sweetie!

    Reply
  8. I really like the Hawthorne in theory, but I don’t have much luck fitting colette for some reason. I voted for the Vogue – I think the full skirt plus sleeves would be so lovely, and I just love it when they do cup sizing!

    Reply
  9. Hey are all beautiful patterns!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 134 other followers

