RSS Feed

C’s Rehearsal Dress

I am happy to report, despite some fitting challenges I encountered, that I got C’s rehearsal dinner dress done this weekend!  Say it with me…HUZZAH!

Butterick 5030
Butterick 5030, view C, with view E sash

I’m quite happy with how it turned out, and C said it was exactly what she was looking for and that she loves it.  :)   Big sigh of relief!  Plus, that weird part that was pulling in the muslin?  It’s not completely gone, but the sash really masks it, and it doesn’t seem nearly as noticeable to me in the final product.  Thank goodness for prints, right?  :)

Butterick 5030

Remember that weird part that was pulling on the muslin?  It’s not completely gone, but the sash really masks it, and it doesn’t seem nearly as noticeable to me in the final product.  Thank goodness for prints, right?  :)  Besides fitting frustration, the construction of this bad boy was pretty straight forward and frustration free.

Butterick 5030

The only real tip I have to provide on this one is to really clip the curves of the neck when applying the neckband. Otherwise, you’ll end up with a crappy looking mess, like I did with both of the muslins…

Butterick 5030

Because the shell fabric was a slightly see through linen, I ended up underlining the whole thing. I thought about just lining it, to preserve some floatiness, but I didn’t want the print to show through around the neckline and at the darts.

Butterick 5030

This made the whole thing a bit heavier than I (or C) was expecting, but it should make it nice and opaque! If I had to do it over again, I probably would have lined in a light cotton instead of also in linen.

Butterick 5030

I liberally used my narrow hem foot once again. It was invaluable on the (view E) sash and the flutter sleeves.

Butterick 5030

I’m so excited for C’s wedding festivities to begin so she can wear her new dress…and of course see her in her other very special new dress…  :)

Butterick 5030

About sometimessewist

Howdy! I’m Jess, a 30-something midwesterner who loves ice cream, Martinis, and makin’ things. When I’m not sewing, knitting, or learning some new craft, I’m reading, spending time with my guy, or plotting my next project.

8 responses »

  1. As I expected it turned out beautiful ;) Great job, *applause*. C looks very pretty in her rehearsal dress!

    Reply
  2. Fantastic Job! She looks great!

    Reply
  3. elbise süper .bravo

    Reply
  4. Pingback: A Wedding Dress: Butterick 5882 | the Sometimes Sewist

  5. Pingback: My Sewing Room: an Evolution | the Sometimes Sewist

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 123 other followers

