RSS Feed

Faux Wrap Topness

I haven’t been doing a lot of garment sewing lately…been in a bit of a slump.

All of the completely bipolar weather we’ve been getting surely isn’t helping, either. We had about 8 inches of snow over a couple days the week before last, and then it warmed up to 40 and RAINED like cats and dogs all the following weekend. My poor sister’s flooring in her basement is ruined, and Mr. 5 and I had some water scares that turned into nothing. Neither of us has had water in our basements before, but tons of snow + frozen ground + inches of rain = lakes in the back yard that rudely follow the laws of physics.

All I have to say is, hello, Mother Nature, it’s March! Work with me. Oh, and did I mention that it snowed again last Tuesday? Seriously: where’s Spring?!

However, I did find the time to whip up McCall’s 6513:

McCall's 6513
View D

And here’s another front view that shows the top more clearly. The sun was out, which was joyous, but its reflection on the snow made my eyes water so badly!

McCall's 6513

I actually whipped most of this up on March 2nd, wore it out to a Beard Off that night (guys traveled from all over to have their facial hair judged by a bar full o’ hooligans), but didn’t actually get around to hemming it until…yesterday. Over two weeks later. Lame, I know.

McCall's 6513

Anywho, this is one of those nifty Palmer/Pletsch patterns that have all sorts of adjustable lines on them – making alterations easy! Well, sort of. I decided to cut a 12 and that I probably needed an FBA. So, I did it as the pattern instructed (just altering one side of the pattern), but then I thought of how you really need to adjust BOTH sides to actually make a wrap (or faux wrap, as it were) lay correctly, like shown in this blog post.

So, in the end, I had this for my front:

Untitled

I made my muslin out of an ugly ass sweater knit that was pretty stretchy. Needless, to say, it was SO BAGGY. I’m not even going to show you a picture. It was that bad. I should’ve just trusted my past working-with-patterns-designed-for-knits experience, and just gone straight 12 right off the bat.

I decided to do just that and ended up with my finished black top! It was still not without issues, though. I feel that the crossover is a bit too high on me, so I’d probably lower that 1/2″ or an 1″ on the side seam in the future.

McCall's 6513

McCall's 6513

And there is some fabric pooling in the back. I used the built in swayback adjustment line included on the pattern, but apparently that wasn’t enough.

McCall's 6513

McCall's 6513
Back neck…and creepy shadow hand of DOOM!!!

Also, I’m not sure the fabric I chose was really the best. I’d recommend slightly firm and stretchy with good recovery. This cotton knit (I think it might be an interlock? I use jersey so often I can’t always correctly identify other knits, besides ribbed knits.) has the slightly firm down, but it doesn’t have a ton of stretch. I mainly used it because it’s been in my stash forever…

I appreciate this top, and I think it would be great in the right fabric; it’s a great wardrobe builder. I just don’t know that I really love it on me.

About sometimessewist

Howdy! I’m Jess, a 30-something midwesterner who loves ice cream, Martinis, and makin’ things. When I’m not sewing, knitting, or learning some new craft, I’m reading, spending time with my guy, or plotting my next project.

8 responses »

  1. I think this looks great – it’s sometimes hard to get those cross over tops to work without gaping. Amused at your FBA insertion followed by realisation that the pattern worked just fine as is…I’ve been doing that a bit lately too ;-)

    Reply
    • Thanks! I actually don’t have any appreciable gaping, I’m just not that excited about the finished garment. How funny that you’ve also been adding and then removing your FBAs, too! :)

      Reply
  2. I think your top looks great. The color is perfect. I am notorious for getting a garment completed except for the hemming. Not sure why I can’t get to the finish – I guess I need to PUSH myself.

    Reply
    • Thank ya! I think it’s because hemming is just so…boring. All of that measuring and pressing that’s so mundane. I seem to like hemming knits least of all. I always use a narrow zig zag because every time I’ve tried using a twin needle, I’ve broken it one way or the other! No thanks to breaking specialty sewing needles at $5 a pop…

      Reply
  3. I can’t even find a twin needle to try it! I love your creation, it’s fab!

    Reply
  4. Looks great! I’ve made this top a couple of times, also without a bust adjustment, but of course on my tiny bust the neckline drapes like a crossover cowl!
    I agree that hemming is boring. Plus once it’s sewn up enough to put on, I just want to wear it already!

    Reply
  5. Awesome!

    Reply
  6. Pingback: Me-Made-May ’13, Week 1 Recap | the Sometimes Sewist

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 140 other followers

