RSS Feed

The Anchorman Dress

I got my second piece of my mini wardrobe done today! Started cutting out at 10 am and by 5 pm I was finished. I’ll admit there was some lollygagging in there, but not a whole lot. Here she is: Vogue 8825!

DSCF3071

I really wasn’t sure this print would work in this dress, and I’m still not positive I’ve used this fabric optimally, but I’m digging the result anyway. Midway through my day of sewing I was really doubting it, and from then, and until the end of sewing it all I could think of was

anchorman-unicorns
“Look, the most glorious rainbow EVER!” – “Oh! Do me on it!”

And thus, this dress shall forevermore (or for the time being) be knighted in the name of Anchorman.

DSCF3065

Now this is an assertive polyester print in an easy wearing style that
Veronica Corningstone would approve of.

DSCF3063

DSCF3067

DSCF3069

DSCF3070
With the straps untied. I like the odd, cool colored sunburst that errupts from my midsection!

DSCF3072

This thing may look a little funky, but it feels AWESOME on. I cut a 12 and the only alterations I made were taking the cuffs in 1″ (and I could’ve easily taken them in another half-inch) and shortening the dress by 4″. If I were to do it again, I’d probably shorten the sleeves a couple of inches, but that’s really all I’d change.

Sewing where the back neck and both parts of the sleeve (2 piece raglan dolman) met (3 pattern pieces meeting into one corner) was a little tricky, but that was the only thing that gave me any trouble at all. If I didn’t have such a busy pattern to attempt to match (It roughly matches most places) I would’ve cut the back bodice/sleeve on the fold since the CB is a straight line. The CB of the skirt is not straight, so that would still need to be cut into two pieces regardless of no zipper being used.

DSCF3052
Best matching seam on the dress. Can you guess where it is?
The under part of the sleeve. Figures – LOL.

I’ve even taken the dress out for a test drive already – for SUSHI!

DSCF3054
Mr. 5 waits patiently for his sushi

DSCF3056
And so do I :)

I’m excited to say that I’m now ahead of schedule on my Mini Wardrobe! (and have also just knocked on wood). Next up? The Jacket, Simplicity 1784.

And my completion schedule:
Jacket by 9/19
Trousers by 9/26
Skirt by 9/29

About sometimessewist

Howdy! I’m Jess, a 30-something midwesterner who loves ice cream, Martinis, and makin’ things. When I’m not sewing, knitting, or learning some new craft, I’m reading, spending time with my guy, or plotting my next project.

19 responses »

  1. Pingback: Mini Wardrobe Plan « the Sometimes Sewist

  2. the dress looks great and I love your fabric choice personally, despite your apprehensions!

    Reply
  3. Awesome dress!! You look great. You’ll need to think up excuses to lift your arm so you can show off that perfect pattern matching. :)

    Reply
    • Thanks, Cuckoo! Yeah, I can just see myself…lifting up my arm nonchalantly for various reasons. Maybe while dancing, or to ask someone if they think I need more deodorant. Hey, those could go together!

      Reply
  4. Great dress – its lovely on you – you have done a great job.

    Reply
  5. WOW, this dress is fabulous!! I think the print goes perfectly with the pattern. What a cool effect on the upper front of the bodice. You are coming right along, and I am excited to see the jacket!

    Reply
  6. Looks great! I just bought this pattern, so it’s nice to see it made up. Makes me excited to make one myself!

    Reply
  7. Pingback: Mini Wardrobe Completed! « the Sometimes Sewist

  8. Wow, it looks great on you! Love the fabric too! I ordered this pattern and was wondering what it would look like in real life and it looks great, can’t wait to make mine up now.

    Reply
  9. Great dress. LOVE the Anchorman references!! Glad to see I’m not the only one who still quotes that movie

    Reply
  10. I’m thinking about making this next and I can’t believe I miss this- this its fabulous!!

    Reply
  11. Found your blog via PR. Love this dress and the zigzag design!

    Reply
  12. Pingback: Vogue 8825- I feel like a chubby Bond Girl « Pretty Grievances

  13. Pingback: The Puma Dress « the Sometimes Sewist

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 148 other followers

